top of page

Shift


So, I am now a Loughborough local! I moved my life over to Loughborough at the start of the month, and I am enjoying myself so far. It's great to be back with a training group, and I am feeling like I am really finding my feet in training and I'm getting very excited about what is to come.

Training has been challenging. I've had some horrid lactic sessions, and some speedier sessions which really puts me to the test, but I am loving every minute of it. I feel like my fitness is coming along somewhat well, but I really need to work on getting faster, but this is something I am sure will come with time. I feel as if things are starting to click when we are doing speed work in training, it's just a matter of putting them into practice and perfecting the little elements when I need to piece them together.

Yesterday, myself and my training partners, Anna and Abs (pictured above), ran at an open meeting in Nuneaton. It was a pretty relaxed meet, which was a great environment for the three of us. The races were seeded by times so we managed to get some great competitions in the races.

I ran the 100m to act as a warm up for my 200m, my first 100m race since 2014! I absolutely loved it, and managed to come away with 12.67s. This is pretty close to my PB of 12.41, and that time was posted when I was convinced that I was a 100m runner. It's encouraging for me to know that I can perform like I did yesterday when I know my speed is not there yet. I may have to run another 100m race in the near future to see if I can surpass my 5 year old PB.

So far I have been focusing on the 200m this year with my training being based for 200's too, and I was really excited to see what I could produce yesterday after what I viewed as a decent block of training. The two races I have ran this year have been 25.9s and 25.7s, and with each race I have felt like I had a lot more in the tank.

Yesterday I ran a race that I didn't feel 100% happy with, I can tell that I have my weak areas that I need to work on. However, I managed to produce a MASSIVE seasons best of 25.32s! I am delighted to come away with this time, and I am already excited to see what I can do with my next race. My personal best is 24.67s, so I am intrigued to see how close I can get to that by the end of the season.

In regards to what I have coming up next, I am off to meet team IOM at the Northern League meeting in West Cheshire this weekend. I will be running the 200m and a leg of the 4x400m relay. I am feeling good! I am excited to see what I can produce in the 200m, and it will be great to have an indication of what I can do over a 400m. This is very unknown territory for me at the moment, so I am looking forward to getting an idea of where I am at and what I need to work on.

I will be sure to update you all on how this weekend goes! I know a lot of people have been messaging to ask when I will appear over the flat 400m again. Maybe after this weekend we might have an idea! Exciting times ahead.


bottom of page