top of page

Diving in


I am now coming to the end of my off season, which has been a blast. Winter training is due to start in 2 weeks, and I can honestly say I can't wait to get started. I have set myself some big goals for next year, and I am willing to put in every ounce of effort and as much time as it takes to achieve them.

This is going to be the first time I am going into a winter training block 100% healthy since 2014! Five whole years since I have been in the position I am in now. Four years since I have been able to give 100% in training. I just have to look back and reflect on 2015 to get excited about whats to come in the upcoming months and year.

2014, I had a consistent block of winter training focusing on training the the 400m for the first time. In 2015, I won the NatWest Island Games, broke the 20 year standing Games record by almost 2 seconds, gained my first GB vest, placed third at the IAAF World Youth Championships, and traveled to Samoa for the Commonwealth Youth Games as team captain.

In 2015, I did everything I wanted to do and more. I put in the time, effort and determination all through the 2014/2015 winter block, and I did that^. 2015 was the year I started to define myself as an athlete, the year that I decided, "This is what I want to do for the rest of my life."

Today, I can confidently say that the passion I feel for this sport now, cannot compare to what I felt back in 2015 when I was living my dream.

Despite being at rock bottom for the best part of four years, I feel so much more love, gratuity and attachment to this sport. I am so thankful to be in the position where I am today. I am about to embark on what will hopefully be the biggest and best winter training of my life to date.

I am so hopeful, excited and joyful. (Although, I might not be saying this in a few weeks time when I am swimming in lactic everyday!)

2020... Let's get it.

 

I feel like I need to address the importance of 'speaking things into existence'.

Here's the thing - if you tell yourself "I can't do this", the big likelihood is YOU'RE NOT GOING TO DO IT. I think it's so common for people to be faced with a challenge, and the first thought be "I'm not capable".

I cannot emphasize this next point enough. BELIEVE IN YOURSELF. In your capabilities, in your strengths, in your stubbornness! You are an incredible person who is capable of amazing things. Get into the habit of telling yourself you can do whatever you want to do, and you'll do it.

Think about a time, a day, a month which was full of hardships where you thought to yourself "I am never going to get through this." Maybe it was a busy spell at work, hard times with family, illness, whatever it may be, where you found yourself thinking you were not enough to get through it. If you're reading this now, that means you got through it! Congratulations. You did it once, which means you can do it again.

There's that quote from Winnie The Pooh - "You are braver than you believe, stronger than you seem, and smarter than you think." READ THAT AGAIN. It's true, and you need to get into the habit of seeing that within yourself.

A positive mindset makes you unstoppable, and it's something that with practice can be your greatest asset. It can be what makes you get out of bed in the mornings, what makes you stand out from the crowd, what gets you to inspire others to do the same.

Get into the habit of saying, "I can do this." Believe me, it will change your life. Get into the habit of being your biggest fan, because no-one else can ever have your back like you can have your own.

I read something the other day that said "If you were reading a book where the main character was going through what you are, wouldn't you be cheering for them?" I think this is so interesting. If someone else was in the same situation as you, and they were looking for advice, guidance or support, what would you say to them? Apply this to yourself. Give yourself the support you would give others. Lift yourself up, and you will see such a change within yourself. Positive thoughts = positive actions.

Be happy.

"Some people are lost in the fire, but others are built from it."

Who do you want to be? Make it happen.


bottom of page