top of page

Rome wasn't built in a day.


I am now two weeks into my winter training program, and as anticipated, my body is sore! However, I wouldn't change this feeling for the world. I've missed feeling like I've worked hard in sessions, so this is welcomed.

The sessions have certainly been challenging, but I am enjoying them a lot. We have done a handful of fitness sessions so far that play to my strengths. I have loved them, and am looking forward to these becoming increasingly challenging as the weeks go on.

There have also been some sessions that I struggle with a lot more, these being the acceleration and speed sessions. While growing up on the island, I was always told "You're too tall to be good out of the blocks", so it wasn't something that we really tried to train me to be good at. As long as I was able to get out of the blocks without falling over, it was seen as a positive.

Now, Glyn is pushing me to be explosive in the very first phases of my race and running, which I find a real challenge, as it is something that was never considered before. But I am relishing the chance to learn new things, and I am really enjoying trying these new skills. My training group has lots of great people to model, so I am finding that I tend to keep eyes on the people who are able to perform the drills well, and then I try and copy with actions, positions and placements. I feel as if things are starting to click slightly, so I will be intrigued to see how I feel after a few more weeks of observation and practice.

My training group is great. Everyone is supportive of each other throughout our sessions and we work well together. I feel very settled within the group, and very thankful for the people around me. It's only week two, and I can already sense a real feeling of determination and excitement about the upcoming season, so I feel very privileged to be apart of such a optimistic group of people.

I am feeling good about the upcoming weeks. This is all still about building base fitness and getting the simple drills right, but I have a lot to learn, a long way to go, and a whole lot faster to get ☺


bottom of page